Buhari Turns Down Nine Bills Passed By National Assembly

President Muhammadu Buhari has declined assent to eight bills passed by the National Assembly and transmitted to him for assent.

This is coming as Buhari gave reasons for his refusal to sign the Electoral Act (Amendment) Bill 2018.

According to The Nation, a statement by the Senior Special Assistant to the President on National Assembly Matters (Senate), Senator Ita Enang, listed Electoral Act (Amendment) Bill 2018; National Agricultural Seeds Council Bill, 2018; and The Advance Fee Fraud and Other Related Offences (Amendment) Bill, 2017, as the affected Bills.

(adsbygoogle = window.adsbygoogle || []).push({});

Others also affected included The Chartered Institute of Entrepreneurship (Establishment) Bill, 2018; The Subsidiary Legislation (Legislative Scrutiny) Bill, 2018; National Institute of Hospitality and Tourism (Establishment) Bill, 2018; National Research and Innovation Council (Establishment) Bill, 2017; Nigerian Maritime Administration and Safety Agency (Amendment) Bill, 2017,

Enang said that the refusal of President Buhari to assent to the Electoral Act (Amendment) Bill 2018 stemmed from “some drafting issues that remain unaddressed following the prior revisions to the Bill.’’

He said,

“His Excellency, President Muhammadu Buhari, GCFR, has by communication dated August 30, 2018, to the Senate and the House of Representatives declined Assent to the Electoral (Amendment) Bill, 2018.

(adsbygoogle = window.adsbygoogle || []).push({});

“I pray for leave, that in view of public interest, the fact of the National Assembly vacation, the imperative to avoid speculation and misinformation, that I give just a few of the rationale by Mr. President.

‘’Mr. President is declining assent to the Electoral Amendment Bill due to some drafting issues that remain unaddressed following the prior revisions to the Bill.

“Mr. President invites the Senate and House of Representatives to address these issues as quickly as possible so that he may grant President Assent to the Electoral Amendment Bill.

(adsbygoogle = window.adsbygoogle || []).push({});


Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.