Defection: 3,000 APC, ZLP members join PDP in Oyo

No fewer than three thousand (3,000) members of All Progressives Congress (APC) and Zenith Labour Party (ZLP) have renounced their membership of the parties to join the ruling Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) in Oyo State.

The defected politicians, who are from Itesiwaju, Iwajowa, Kajola and Iseyin, were received by the Chairman of the party in the state, Alhaji Kunmi Mustapha, at the weekend.

READ ALSO: Notorious armed robbery and kidnap kingpin, Enenike Nweze arrested in Enugu State

Other chieftains of the party at the reception included: Alhaji Azeez Akodudu, Mr Ojebiyi Johnson, Mr Musa Salahudeen, Chief O.K. Salam, Chief Ojewumi, Baba Ige and Alhaji Muraina Siaba.

The defectors, who were led by Chief Basiru Ahmed Aranse, described their defections as home coming.

Mustapha, while speaking, admitted the political sagacity and strong political structure of Alhaji Basiru Ahmed Aranse-led APC and ZLP defectors.

He described their coming into PDP as the end of APC in the four local government areas.

Mustapha however enjoined the decampees to be of good conduct.

He urged them to join hands with the leadership of PDP at the ward, local and state levels in other to give a boost to Governor Seyi Makinde’s drive to make PDP the preferred party by Oyo State citizens.


READ ALSO: AAC expels Ezenwa, reaffirms Sowore as National Chairman



Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button